Edgar Allan Poe: Alone

and-all-i-loved-edgar-allan-poe-i-loved-alone-love-quote-favim-com-165805

From childhood’s hour I have not been

As others were—I have not seen

As others saw—I could not bring

My passions from a common spring—

From the same source I have not taken

My sorrow—I could not awaken

My heart to joy at the same tone—

And all I lov’d—I lov’d alone—

Then—in my childhood—in the dawn

Of a most stormy life—was drawn

From ev’ry depth of good and ill

The mystery which binds me still—

From the torrent, or the fountain—

From the red cliff of the mountain—

From the sun that ’round me roll’d

In its autumn tint of gold—

From the lightning in the sky

As it pass’d me flying by—

From the thunder, and the storm—

And the cloud that took the form

(When the rest of Heaven was blue)

Of a demon in my view—

E. A. Poe

 

Von Kindheits Stunde war ich nicht
wie and’re war’n, denn meine Sicht
war anders: Ich hab‘ nie gestillt
Gefühl vom Born, der allen quillt.
Und meine Sorgen nahm ich nicht
von ihm. Auch was zum Herzen spricht
kam nicht von ihm: Die Lieben mein,
die liebte ich für mich allein.
Dann – in der Kindheit, am Beginn
des Lebenssturms – kam mein Gewinn
aus allen Tiefen, gut und schlecht,
und dies Geheimnis ward mein Recht:
Von dem Wildbach, von der Quelle,
von des Berges roter Schwelle,
von der Sonn‘, die um mich rollt
in des Herbstes schimmernd‘ Gold,
von der Himmel Blitze Flug,
als er nah die Erde schlug,
von dem Sturm, vom Donner wild
und der Wolke, die das Bild
(ganz allein am Himmelszelt)
zeigt des Dämons meiner Welt.

E. A. Poe

Kommentar verfassen

